GUEST REVIEWS

Reviews on Google

Crystal Marini
Crystal Marini
September 18, 2023.
Had a fantastic experience, Ethan taught me some great skills and did more than just watch over safety. He has a deep well of knowledge and a warm personality. I think being a guide could be tiring as noobs can be tiring, but he brought a positive attitude to the day. Drop in sessions are affordable and I don't need to wait for others to join. Well done and I hope to get outside with Girth Hitch again soon.
Jillian B
Jillian B
September 17, 2023.
We had an amazing time climbing the Fox Via Ferrata with Ethan. He was fun, encouraging, and made sure we were safe. We will definitely go back!
Daniel Borun
Daniel Borun
September 11, 2023.
Very awesome experience! Our guide Ethan was very knowledgeable and helpful towards our party! Would come back again
Rashida Yamani
Rashida Yamani
September 6, 2023.
Great service, flexible and accommodating
Daniel Paquette
Daniel Paquette
September 4, 2023.
Ethan was an awesome guide, came into the day not really knowing what to expect. Ethan was super knowledgeable and helped us all feel comfortable and learn really quick. Amazing first experience climbing outdoors made better by an amazing guide!
Leanne Pinette
Leanne Pinette
September 2, 2023.
Ethan was an amazing guide! He was very knowledgeable and calm. During the more challenging areas, he talked to us very calmly and reassured us at each step.
Gavin Fedroak
Gavin Fedroak
September 2, 2023.
We had a great time with Eli doing “Try Rock”. We will definitely be going back for more adventure with Girth Hitch.
Kiara Cooksley
Kiara Cooksley
August 28, 2023.
Fantastic, patient, knowledgeable & friendly guides that provide great feedback. Would & will recommend their services~
Stu Weidenhamer
Stu Weidenhamer
August 18, 2023.
Great new experience. Our guide Benjamin, was awesome. He explained everything very carefully to us. He offered good advice on climb up( and down) and was very encouraging!
Jason Stephan
Jason Stephan
August 16, 2023.
What a unique and amazing (and sometimes terrifying experience 🙂 I went with my son (22) and daughter (16) and they loved it. I was pushed, in a good way. Our guide Tim was great. Very competent and friendly. It was a singular experience and one our family will cherish!

Reviews on Tripadvisor

LoveTravel553746
LoveTravel553746
January 30, 2021.
Ice Climbing with Tim Tim made our ice climbing adventures super fun and we will definitely be going back. He’s full of knowledge and was a great coach.
Poul_Mark
Poul_Mark
November 16, 2019.
Multi-Pitch Climb This year my son and I started climbing. It was a crazy thing to do at the age of 50 but after watching Free Solo last Christmas my fifteen-year-old declared that he wanted to do what Alex Honnold did. I wasn't so sure about that goal but thought that maybe climbing would be something that we could get into together.After spending months inside a climbing facility in Edmonton, getting lead certified, we decided to take our climbing outdoors. This is where we met Tim. Our first outing was a weekend that combined climbing Hidden Granite in the David Thompson Corridor and then climbing the Via Ferrata, From Nordegg with Love the next day. That two-day adventure jump-started a summer of climbing.Andrew (my son) and I have now spent an additional two weekends climbing with Tim doing multi-pitch climbs in Banff and Yoho National Parks. Tim as an amazing guide with seemingly unlimited patience mixed with gentle persistence that pushes you beyond what you "thought" were your limits. I can't recommend his guiding services strongly enough. Whether you want to get out and hit 5.12s or are just exploring the concept of getting into the mountains, he is the man for you. He has inspired my son and is pushing him to improve all the time. As for me, I am training hard for a three-night trip booked in the Bugaboos next summer!

Almost from the very start, I knew that I had met someone unique in Tim Taylor. Gracious, hospitable, and conscientious are the words that first came to mind. Our small group settled into the modest accommodations at Frontier Lodge and gathered on Tim’s deck to talk about the climb planned for the next day. Besides the inviting fire, and the beer in my hand, the one thing that I will always remember from that evening was Tim describing the approach to the climbing location as having “a few” fallen trees to navigate. I slept fitfully that first night, anxious about my ability to climb outdoors. Despite the lack of sleep, I rose with a mixed sense of anticipation and dread, drenched in sunlight and crisp mountain air.

POUL MARK

If I could give 6 stars I would!

I have been a customer of Girth Hitch Guiding for the past 3 years and what an amazing experience it has been. Tim Taylor and the GHG team have provided outstanding guidance, leadership, and training. Tim is not only an expert at teaching how to move in the mountains, but also an inspirational person who I admire. I can’t recommend GHG enough!

Lance Floreani

My outdoor experiences with Tim have challenged me and pushed me to improve myself both physically and mentally. Not only to be a better climber, but also to be a better person. Two years ago, I could barely climb the most simple of routes on rock. Tim was patient, calm and encouraging. We used the weekend to discuss many of the challenges in life, both personal and at work. We connected. I did manage to get up half a route that weekend – through sheer determination – and I felt like I made real progress. I learned so much about the technique required to climb and since then I’ve practiced in bouldering gyms to keep improving. But my desire to climb comes from the time I spent outdoors with Girth Hitch Guiding and the prospect of having more enriched adventures.

MICHAEL HARVEY

Tim has an incredible ability to see potential in people and encourage them towards growth. I have been hoping to develop basic rock rescue skills as well as gain some more confidence leading on gear. Tim created a specialized intensive one day course for me to meet my objectives. I was challenged mentally and physically and finished the day feeling more technically competent but also with a renewed passion for climbing.

MEGAN CALDERWOOD

When I met Tim, I had scarcely been gym climbing for two months. My eventual goal was to get into mountaineering and alpine rock but I didn’t know where to start. Within several months, Tim got me going on multi-pitch rock, ice, and gear in addition to teaching a variety of rescue skills.

I can’t recommend learning with Tim enough. He is exceptional at teaching the logic of technical rope systems and passionate about encouraging clients to reach their goals and beyond. Tim stands out in his profession through his emphasis on “transformational adventure.” Every session with Tim was an opportunity to grow – physically, psychologically and personally.

MAISON LIETCH

This summer my husband I decided to check off a few items from our bucket list. In doing so we made arrangements to have a helicopter take us to 3 remote areas. Because we knew we are novice in what lay ahead of us we asked for a guide.

In the beginning I was quite nervous about what lay ahead in an unfamiliar territory. As soon as our guide Tim was  introduced to us he immediately put me at ease. Not just from his friendliness but seeing that he was prepared (bear spray 😉).

Our first drop off was Cline Confluence (Cline River)it was great. Tim was surprisingly knowledgeable about every plant and of course the area.

On our second drop off Lake of the Falls which was pretty intimidating but exhilarating being let off on the cliff of a mountainside, we stopped and had an awesome lunch and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty of this place. This one was the most challenging but rewarding drop off.

Once we were told where we were to meet the helicopter for our 3rd and last pickup I got a bit concerned on how this was going to go since my husband had just had back surgery 6 weeks before and has trouble with his knees, let alone me worrying about him when he had a heart attack just a year ago. Again, Tim’s presence, confidence, and genuine caring of our well being kept a watchful eye on us both. He may not know how much I noticed but I did and it brought me so much peace to know that he was there with us and was quite qualified to handle any situation which I am happy to say we had none. Tim was always there to lend a helping hand to make our path easier and of course to give us the adventure of a lifetime. At one point we had come across a batch of snow so we made snow angels.

By the time we were dropped off for  our last stop Landslide Lake we were exhausted. We hiked down to the lake, pulled off our shoes and soaked our tired feet and had some snacks.

I will add this, one of the many great things about Tim was how he kept my husband occupied. It was like a father and son trip for them. They talked about life from A to Z while I was able to do my thing in peace 😉 😂 which was enjoying the beauty and peace that I was blessed to be surrounded by and try to capture all of it with photos and stories to tell to my grandchildren.

KATHY MCKIMMY