GUEST REVIEWS

Read a little about what our guests say about their adventures with us!

google reviews
Melissa Schulze
Melissa Schulze
February 12, 2024.
I have done multiple trips with GHG and I can’t say enough positive feedback to express how much I love doing any types of adventure with Tim. Every time I have a terrific time but also always feel like he takes safety seriously. I have many more trips scheduled and I am 100% looking forward every single one of them, doesn’t matter if it’s ice climbing, rock climbing or alpine. Always a good time!
Amanda Sutherland
Amanda Sutherland
January 30, 2024.
The guides were fantastic for our ice climbing adventure - they had a lot of knowledge about the area, were kind and patient, and very skilled. They made sure that everyone in the group was comfortable and safe throughout the entire trip. I would highly recommend Girth Hitch Guiding to anyone looking for a great outdoor adventure!
Emilie Sutherland
Emilie Sutherland
January 29, 2024.
Tim and Ethan did an absolutely fantastic job guiding my group and I. We had a stellar adventure, which was both fun and safe. They shared so many interesting facts and taught me so much!
Peter Herbert
Peter Herbert
January 23, 2024.
Tim was great guiding ice climbing! He seamlessly adapted to our group’s different skill levels and each person's progression throughout the time. Cheers!
Simon Turner
Simon Turner
December 22, 2023.
Had a great time climbing multi-pitch ice with Tim. He took a lot of time to figure out my goals for the short term and long term and designed a trip that met those goals perfectly. Clearly knew the area and routes well, everything was textbook and always felt safe. Tim even towed my car out of a snowdrift at the end of the day! Highly recommend
Mazzen Black
Mazzen Black
December 19, 2023.
Incredibly fun climbing trip! Tim was knowledgable, friendly, and approachable and always ensured that whatever we did was within our comfort zones and capabilities. I cannot overstate how much I enjoyed our trip with Tim and how seamless he made the whole day progress. Will be planning another trip with Girth Hitch soon.
James Hammond
James Hammond
December 19, 2023.
A truly excellent weekend of ice climbing with incredible instructors and beautiful locations. Everything about my experience with Girth Hitch Guiding was simply top quality. I can't wait to come back again and again.
Jerry Holik
Jerry Holik
December 18, 2023.
Our ice climbing experience with Girth Hitch was outstanding. Tim provided us with top notch equipment and took us through an amazing experience that allowed us to practice different technical skills on various ice flows. We highly recommend climbing with Girth Hitch.
Zach
Zach
December 15, 2023.
Belated post. Ethan guided me up Achilles Spire in early August. This was my first multipitch. His knowledge and skillset put my mind at ease and we flew up the 1000ft multipitch. I would give these guys 10 stars if I could. If you are on the fence about which service to use, these guys are legit. I will be contacting them again on my next Alberta trip.
Jacob Tombs
Jacob Tombs
December 4, 2023.
Very professional and skilled guides. Amazing organization, Tim was professional and great at teaching a lot of information in two days while also taking us on very fun and interesting climbs (Peskett canyon is very fun and a good challenge).
Tripadvisor Reviews
LoveTravel553746
LoveTravel553746
January 30, 2021.
Ice Climbing with Tim Tim made our ice climbing adventures super fun and we will definitely be going back. He’s full of knowledge and was a great coach.
Poul_Mark
Poul_Mark
November 16, 2019.
Multi-Pitch Climb This year my son and I started climbing. It was a crazy thing to do at the age of 50 but after watching Free Solo last Christmas my fifteen-year-old declared that he wanted to do what Alex Honnold did. I wasn't so sure about that goal but thought that maybe climbing would be something that we could get into together. After spending months inside a climbing facility in Edmonton, getting lead certified, we decided to take our climbing outdoors. This is where we met Tim. Our first outing was a weekend that combined climbing Hidden Granite in the David Thompson Corridor and then climbing the Via Ferrata, From Nordegg with Love the next day. That two-day adventure jump-started a summer of climbing. Andrew (my son) and I have now spent an additional two weekends climbing with Tim doing multi-pitch climbs in Banff and Yoho National Parks. Tim as an amazing guide with seemingly unlimited patience mixed with gentle persistence that pushes you beyond what you "thought" were your limits. I can't recommend his guiding services strongly enough. Whether you want to get out and hit 5.12s or are just exploring the concept of getting into the mountains, he is the man for you. He has inspired my son and is pushing him to improve all the time. As for me, I am training hard for a three-night trip booked in the Bugaboos next summer!

Almost from the very start, I knew that I had met someone unique in Tim Taylor. Gracious, hospitable, and conscientious are the words that first came to mind. Our small group settled into the modest accommodations at Frontier Lodge and gathered on Tim’s deck to talk about the climb planned for the next day. Besides the inviting fire, and the beer in my hand, the one thing that I will always remember from that evening was Tim describing the approach to the climbing location as having “a few” fallen trees to navigate. I slept fitfully that first night, anxious about my ability to climb outdoors. Despite the lack of sleep, I rose with a mixed sense of anticipation and dread, drenched in sunlight and crisp mountain air.

POUL MARK

If I could give 6 stars I would!

I have been a customer of Girth Hitch Guiding for the past 3 years and what an amazing experience it has been. Tim Taylor and the GHG team have provided outstanding guidance, leadership, and training. Tim is not only an expert at teaching how to move in the mountains, but also an inspirational person who I admire. I can’t recommend GHG enough!

Lance Floreani

My outdoor experiences with Tim have challenged me and pushed me to improve myself both physically and mentally. Not only to be a better climber, but also to be a better person. Two years ago, I could barely climb the most simple of routes on rock. Tim was patient, calm and encouraging. We used the weekend to discuss many of the challenges in life, both personal and at work. We connected. I did manage to get up half a route that weekend – through sheer determination – and I felt like I made real progress. I learned so much about the technique required to climb and since then I’ve practiced in bouldering gyms to keep improving. But my desire to climb comes from the time I spent outdoors with Girth Hitch Guiding and the prospect of having more enriched adventures.

MICHAEL HARVEY

Tim has an incredible ability to see potential in people and encourage them towards growth. I have been hoping to develop basic rock rescue skills as well as gain some more confidence leading on gear. Tim created a specialized intensive one day course for me to meet my objectives. I was challenged mentally and physically and finished the day feeling more technically competent but also with a renewed passion for climbing.

MEGAN CALDERWOOD

When I met Tim, I had scarcely been gym climbing for two months. My eventual goal was to get into mountaineering and alpine rock but I didn’t know where to start. Within several months, Tim got me going on multi-pitch rock, ice, and gear in addition to teaching a variety of rescue skills.

I can’t recommend learning with Tim enough. He is exceptional at teaching the logic of technical rope systems and passionate about encouraging clients to reach their goals and beyond. Tim stands out in his profession through his emphasis on “transformational adventure.” Every session with Tim was an opportunity to grow – physically, psychologically and personally.

MAISON LIETCH

This summer my husband I decided to check off a few items from our bucket list. In doing so we made arrangements to have a helicopter take us to 3 remote areas. Because we knew we are novice in what lay ahead of us we asked for a guide.

In the beginning I was quite nervous about what lay ahead in an unfamiliar territory. As soon as our guide Tim was  introduced to us he immediately put me at ease. Not just from his friendliness but seeing that he was prepared (bear spray 😉).

Our first drop off was Cline Confluence (Cline River)it was great. Tim was surprisingly knowledgeable about every plant and of course the area.

On our second drop off Lake of the Falls which was pretty intimidating but exhilarating being let off on the cliff of a mountainside, we stopped and had an awesome lunch and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty of this place. This one was the most challenging but rewarding drop off.

Once we were told where we were to meet the helicopter for our 3rd and last pickup I got a bit concerned on how this was going to go since my husband had just had back surgery 6 weeks before and has trouble with his knees, let alone me worrying about him when he had a heart attack just a year ago. Again, Tim’s presence, confidence, and genuine caring of our well being kept a watchful eye on us both. He may not know how much I noticed but I did and it brought me so much peace to know that he was there with us and was quite qualified to handle any situation which I am happy to say we had none. Tim was always there to lend a helping hand to make our path easier and of course to give us the adventure of a lifetime. At one point we had come across a batch of snow so we made snow angels.

By the time we were dropped off for  our last stop Landslide Lake we were exhausted. We hiked down to the lake, pulled off our shoes and soaked our tired feet and had some snacks.

I will add this, one of the many great things about Tim was how he kept my husband occupied. It was like a father and son trip for them. They talked about life from A to Z while I was able to do my thing in peace 😉 😂 which was enjoying the beauty and peace that I was blessed to be surrounded by and try to capture all of it with photos and stories to tell to my grandchildren.

KATHY MCKIMMY